Sorry you are running into this issue. As far as I can remember, v1.041 is not a release version (have to verify that). Could it be that you received the unit from a Bose employee for testing (beta product)?
For your information, I can reproduce this with v1.041.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .